Agra is a city located in the State of Uttar Pradesh in India.

Among its many monuments, it include the Taj Mahal, Fort red and, nearby, Fatehpur-Sikri, all three registered to the list of world heritage of Unesco.

Agra is situated on the banks of the Yamuna. Its average altitude is 171 meters.

Today the rich architectural heritage of the city attracts millions of tourists every year

.

Monuments to visit

IMG_0504The Taj Mahal, which means ‘Palace of the Crown’ in Persian, is located at the edge of the river Yamuna. It is a white marble mausoleum built by Emperor mogul Shah Jahan in memory of his wife Mumtaz Mahal. She died on June 17, 1631. At his death, which occurred on 31 January 1666, her husband was buried with her.The Taj Mahal is considered to be a jewel of Mughal architecture.

The central dome of the tomb is surrounded by four identical minarets that are inclined outward so that in the event of earthquake, they collapsed in the direction opposite to the Tomb. To the left of the monument is a mosque, made of red sandstone.

The Taj Mahal complex is inscribed in the world heritage of UNESCO since 1983 and is one of the new seven wonders of the world.

IMG_0510 IMG_0549

The mausoleum of Itmad-Ud-Daula, sometimes familiarly called Baby taj: it is the tomb of Mirza GhiyasBeg, father-in-law of Emperor Jahangir. Its architecture is reminiscent of the Taj Mahal. It was also the first building of this type built in marble and it is during its construction trades began the technique of inlay of precious stones in the marble that was later widely used for the Taj Mahal.

IMG_0517   Photo 1187 incrustation de pierres dans du marbre

IMG_0609The Red Fort , built by Akbar in 1565 in red sandstone, dominates the town. Renovated and converted into a residential Palace of Mughal style during the reign of Shah Jahan, it is decorated with marble and inlays of pietra dura.

Covering an area of 380,000 square metres, it is the largest fort of the India. It has been classified world heritage by UNESCO in 1983. The walls, red sandstone, are high of 21 metres and 2.5 km long.

It contains various fabulous palaces of marble, mosques and gardens including style Indo-Muslim Jahangir Palace

Inside the fort is including: the Diwan-I-Khas, pavilion private audiences built by Shah Jahan in 1636, where the emperor received foreign dignitaries

IMG_0574 palais jahandir Photo 1170 diwan i khas

Agra est une ville située dans l’État de l’Uttar Pradesh en Inde.

Parmi ses nombreux monuments, il comprend le Taj Mahal, le Fort rouge et, à proximité, Fatehpur Sikri-, tous trois inscrits à la liste du patrimoine mondial de l’Unesco.

Agra est situé sur les rives de la Yamuna. Son altitude moyenne est de 171 mètres.

Aujourd’hui, le riche patrimoine architectural de la ville attire des millions de touristes chaque année

 

Monuments à visiter

IMG_0504Le Taj Mahal qui signifie « Palais de la Couronne » en persan, est situé  au bord de la rivière Yamuna. C’est un mausolée de marbre blanc construit par l’empereur  mogol Shah Jahan en mémoire de son épouse Mumtaz Mahal ; elle meurt le 17 juin 1631 . À sa mort, survenue le 31 janvier 1666, son époux fut inhumé auprès d’elle.Le Taj Mahal est considéré comme un joyau de l’architecture moghole.

Le dôme central du tombeau est entouré par quatre minarets identiques, qui s’inclinent vers l’extérieur de telle sorte qu’en cas de tremblement de terre, ils s’écroulent dans la direction opposée au tombeau. À la gauche du monument se trouve une mosquée, faite de grès rouge.

Le complexe du Taj Mahal est inscrit au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO depuis 1983 et est l’une des sept nouvelles merveilles du monde.

IMG_0510   IMG_0549

Le mausolée d’Itmad-Ud-Daula, parfois appelé familièrement Baby taj : c’est le tombeau de Mirza GhiyasBeg, beau-père de l’empereur Jahangir.   Son architecture rappelle celle du Taj Mahal. Il fut d’ailleurs le premier bâtiment de ce type construit en marbre et c’est durant sa construction que les corps de métier mirent au point la technique d’incrustation des pierres précieuses dans le marbre qui fut plus tard largement utilisée pour le Taj Mahal.

IMG_0517    Photo 1187 incrustation de pierres dans du marbre

IMG_0609Le Fort rouge, construit par Akbar en 1565 en grès rouge, domine la ville. Rénové et converti en palais résidentiel de style moghol sous le règne de Shah Jahan, il est décoré de marbre et d’incrustations de pietra dura.

Recouvrant une surface de 380 000 mètres carrés, c’est le plus grand fort de l’Inde. Il a été classé au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO en 1983. Les murs d’enceinte, en grès rouge, sont hauts de de 21 mètres et longs de 2,5 km .

Il contient divers fabuleux palais de marbre, mosquées et jardins dont le palais de Jahangir de style Indo-musulman

À l’intérieur du fort se trouve notamment : le Diwan-I-Khas, pavillon des audiences privées construit par Shah Jahan en 1636, où l’empereur recevait les hauts dignitaires étrangers

IMG_0574 palais jahandirPhoto 1170 diwan i khas